Norwich

This is about the extent of what I saw of Norwich tonight, arriving in the dark and the rain after all trains from London had been cancelled - some poor soul had thrown themselves in front of a train somewhere up the line. A circuitous route via Cambridge was the only way to get there in time for my event.

Temperatures had plunged and the weather meant there were no taxis at the station, where we stood waiting in a long line in the rain for 20 fruitless minutes.

Fortunately a warm welcome awaited us at Jarrold's where 120 enthusiastic readers had braved the cold to come and share with me publication day for "Cast Iron". We had a great night.

By the time it was over the rain had stopped, and we ate in a Loch Fyne Oyster Bar - which took me spiralling back in time to my days in Argyll and meals at the original Oyster Bar on Loch Fyne - including my wedding lunch (J and I were married in Inveraray).

This is the view from my room, when we finally made it to the hotel. Now looking forward to catching a glimpse of the town in sunshine tomorrow morning before leaving for a lunchtime signing in Cambridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.