Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Daddy's Boy

This was a day of contrasts. Our morning walk was undertaken in a heavy mist/drizzle on our favorite trail. Not that it mattered because the visibility was so low that it was more of a soundscape than a landscape. I heard the sounds of the sirens being tested on the park fire engines, usually clearly visible from the trail. Some runners emerged from the mist just behind me, heralded by their voices, and birds could be heard in the trees, but because of the mist all was strangely muffled.

At the coffee shop I took this picture of a Saturday morning father with his son. Yes I checked with him, and his comment when I showed him my picture was that he didn't realize how bald he was. I didn't enquire as to which one of them he was referring to and I didn't ask. He had just gotten out his paper and was attempting to read it, when the baby woke up and I was lucky enough to get this picture. (iPhones are great for surreptitious pictures. Hopefully he just thought I was reading my email.)

We drove out of the mist and two hours up the road to a place called Loomis for the wedding of our old friends' daughter. By the time we got there , it was 89 degrees, cooler than had been predicted. Parasols were provided and popsicles, and we found a seat in the shade which was perfect. The bride's brother performed the fastest ceremony on record, and we all adjourned inside where the air conditioning was turned up so high that we hd to retrieve our sweaters from the car. I was tempted by a picture of the bride's dogs dressed in tulle and tie, but preferred the dad's unadulterated joy when his son woke up and ruined his newspaper time.

With the two hour drive back into the fog behind us, we're now enjoying a glass of wine and anticipating a quiet day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.