Hats

While the teaching is getting better, one of the troubling issues for me is the fact that students here are allowed to wear hats in the school and in the classroom. In every other school I've ever worked, hats were not allowed in the classroom, and some didn't allow them in the building. In my way of thinking, removing one's hat inside is a long-standing tradition of courtesy and respect. On my second day last week, I quietly asked the classes if they would respect my request to kindly remove their hats in my room. I also said I was not out to change the culture of the high school, and also said that at my advanced age, I was not going to battle or "scrimmage" anyone over it. It's a simple request, a simple act of respect.

I would say that the grand total of those taking off their hat now is about four, and thirty or more have kept them on. I have quietly thanked those who abided by my request, but I've not battled any of the others. I made my statement, and now they are making theirs. So be it.

What they will come to find out at some point in their life is this: Respect is a two-way street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.