briocarioca

By briocarioca

Mellow Yellow

A rainy day and I confess to sleeping in and letting HH go off to gym on his own. During a late breakfast, I mentioned to Ronaldo that I had to trek out to the boondocks to clear up a pension problem. I was dreading the heat and not thinking of going today, but he pointed out that it was cooler after the rain, why not get on and do it? So I gathered my wits and set of. SO glad I did - the journey, on the air-conditioned Metro, was actually freezing, but not too bad, I didn't get mugged (though when I stopped to get photos of this tree a lady said "You don't know the risk you're taking"), there was hardly any queue when I got there and the nice lady behind the counter sorted the problem in no time. Phew!

The area is interesting for two reasons. One is the massive evangelical church complex that occupies the whole of a huge city block. I know just how huge it is, because I had to walk the length of it, and then some - last time in scorching heat. The other is a shopping mall in what was once a textile factory, set up in 1925 and partly owned and run, I believe, by British interests. The fathers of one of our oldest friends in Rio and of our neighbour in the hills, and others like them, came out from Lancashire to work there, and the families lived in a community rather like Bourneville. The whole area was far more countryfied back then, and from what our friend tells us, it sounds like a great way to have spent her childhood.

Can anyone identify this tree for me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.