A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

Bricks that built me

Another shot of my little bridge that really should have featured in my recent book of Leicestershire bridges...

Its always so evocative of walks with my Granddad who would often have a quick pint (hopefully without my Grandma finding out) in the rather uniquely set pub on the shores of Stoney Cove. My first sip of beer was here as perhaps a five/six year old and whenever that scent of hops and cigarette smoke align I'm transported back. 

Recently I was looking on an old map of Stoney Stanton and noted how densely covered in narrow gauge railway lines the village once was, serving no less than four different quarries, outputting the aggregate to the wider world. This bridge once accommodated such a line, it;s wonderful industrial heritage all to easily forgotten in the malaise of modern day. Nevertheless important to remember from time to time as our own personal stories align with the histories of the places they were written in. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.