Junk yard

I knew today was the last chance I'd get to find an entry for the theme Junk Yard.  We had to go to town anyway, so we stopped by the scrap metal recycling, and there was this nice little collection of junk in the yard there.

The repairman came this morning.  Not good news, because it looks like it will cost almost as much to repair the washing machine as it will to get a new one.  We've had this machine for one month less than 7 years, and he said that the life expectancy of the machines now is 7 years, so he reckons we've done well.  He's going to do a bit of research and will get back to us.   We had our old washer for almost 20 years.  They sure don't make things like they used to!   The washer hasn't been overused, I never overload it, and there are only 2 of us.  I guess it wouldn't have lasted this long if it belonged to a family with kids. 
I suspect we'll end up buying a new one.  What's the point of repairing it without knowing how long it'll last, and we end up buying a new one anyway?  Grrrrrr...planned obsolescence....
Extra: if I hadn't been looking for a junk yard, I'd have blipped the handsome Gunner, who was waiting patiently while his owner sorted recycling.  I took the photo with permission of the owner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.