CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The parade of Wassailers in Stroud

Helena and I were a bit late in getting into town today, and as there was a minor traffic jam with so many visitors, I didn't manage to rendezvous with her. We wanted to see the final parade of the many sides who had gathered earlier today as part of the Wassailing festival to demonstrate their prowess at various sites around town. The parade left from the Stroud Subscription Rooms, which is always a point of assembly for the community, and wound around the town centre. I anticipated their movements and went to the High Street where I thought I would get a good view.

I don't know very much about Morris sides and folk dancing, so I recommend going to Woodpecker's blip for today, where she explains much more about it.  I like the colour and spectacle of all the various groups who seemed to have come from far and wide.  Another good gathering in this interesting town.

I have added a lot of 'Extra photos' in case anyone wants to see one.  I'll probably only leave them posted here for a few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.