Stand-In

I'd hoped to wow you with a photo of a female Varied Thrush who taught herself how to land on our high feeder, but none of my photos quite captured her awkward but determined efforts to land, balance, and grab a few bites now and then. Fortunately, this Pileated Woodpecker was happy to oblige with an effortless landing and a pleased expression at the food on offer.

In other aerial news, my daughter M phoned to say how much she'd enjoyed her demo flight this morning in a little helicopter. Her instructor told her she was a natural at it as she flew over downtown Seattle for half an hour. (He did the take-off and landing in the dual-controls helicopter.) I'm proud of her interest in having new experiences, even if the mere thought of this one makes me feel weak!

Blip 1724

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.