Acrylics...

...I got my acrylics out today. I have had them that long and not used them so many of them have dried up.

So today was finding what was usable among them.

Then figuring what would be the best subjects to do with them...I came up with...sheep.

I had some small 7" by 5" canvas boards. So I tried a sheep on one. A couple of hours later I realised what was wrong with it and stopped. I often dive into something...and I dove into this without considering the characteristics of the sheep. I have hundreds of print photos from a few decades ago of sheep. But they are in the depths of the garage under and behind stuff...and it is midwinter out there with rain and sleet, so they can stay there for the moment, at least until Spring. Thirty years I intended painting sheep but never got round to it...

What is wrong with this painting? Well, I haven't stopped to consider the character and structure of the face of the sheep. So I researched on google images...

Tomorrow will be the beginning of 7 days of sheep! Hopefully I will have improved by then.

In the meantime this is my pic every day in 2017 for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.