Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Found in the woods

It was just fabulous weather here today as it was yesterday so we decided to get out of the house.  I put a beef roast in the crockpot and loaded up some sandwiches in about 10 minutes..I was not going to give Jerry time to change his mind.  He did not want to drive too far so we ended up going to some land that his hunting club leases a little over an hour away.   He said he had something he wanted me to see.  

In the woods just a short ways from the old dirt road was a cemetery.  There were about 5 or 6 stones standing but some were so far down in the leaves and dirt that it was hard to tell if it was a good headstone or just part of something else.   The stones that I could read dates on were from the 1870's, after the War Between the States.  In the background here, the cross is at the grave of a veteran of that war and has CSA..Confederate States of America on one side and Deo Vindice..God as Defender, is what I found that means and it was the motto of the Confederate States.     Jerry knows the people that own this land and they do check on the graves he said but obviously do not do any maintenance to keep them in good shape.   I could read some of the words on some of the stones..the one I wanted to read as it was more than just a name and dates, I could not make out but a few of the words.

Interesting day, walking for over 5 miles which was supposed to be just a short walk down to a creek and back..apparently Jerry never used the gps to track how far he was walking here.   

Other photos of the graveyard in the extras.

I usually don't have a photo for derelict sunday but I think this one will work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.