Thoughtful Sunday Afternoon

Every process involves breaking something up.
The earth must be broken to bring forth life.
If the seed does not die there is no life.
Bread results from the death of wheat.
Joseph Campbell.

Life has been unexpectedly unsettled since I've shifted back into the house, in ways I never anticipated. I'm realising, as many others in Christchurch have apparently, that once you shift back into your house, then you start having to deal with the trauma that you've kept buried while you've been concentrating on surviving elsewhere - for 2.5 years for me. I've just met someone whose rebuild/repair hasn't even started, after 6 years of trying and waiting and being unsettled. It's been the uncertainty and the unsettledness that got me, plus some other more personal issues. It's good to know there's a process to go through though, and that that part is normal. It's the system that's been in control of getting things back together that hasn't been normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.