atoll

By atoll

The Ood and the Octopus Story

Hopefully not the mother of blip Octopus & Razor Clams of 10th March (see Youtube), but a major windfall for me from our local Booths supermarket. Sitting all forlorn in the discount section (and marked-down) MrsB rang to see if I wanted it. Still stuck in report panic mode, I didn't hear the call so it was left. Kindly, J rushed back for it afterwards. I love Octopus but you just don't find it that often in the land-locked bits of England.

Coincidentely, last week I had wanted J to ask Jake if he could call into the Bull Ring market in Birmingham to buy me some, but for some reason J had said no she wouldn't. I also keep meaning to head for Manchester's Smithfield Fish Market to look for them, but I hear that the place is already closed very early, so have not made it yet. The greatest fish market I have been to by-the-way (but excluding Malé market in Maldives, which is without peers in my opinion) is Venice's Rialto. Forget all the usual cultural sights and just get there for about 05:00 am as they are setting up.

MrsB is making sn organic chicken liver 'dry' curry as I write this (much better than it sounds), and I have just tenderised the Octopus for oven-baking with some olive oil and the magic Maldivian spice mix as highlighted before.

For today's blip I had intended to 'pose' as either alien Ood from Dr Who, or dreadlocked Predator. J took some shots, but decided it looked like I had a wierd "Octopus Fetish". I put them on Blipfolio for posterity, but removed it on advice :-/

Postscript: J tells me I looked more like Davy Jones from Pirates of the Caribbean.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.