NeilBarr

By NeilBarr

Sgúrr Na Lapaich

A bit of a disaster of a trip with not very much to show for it. Headed up to Glen Affric for some nice calm sunny conditions. Got windy and cloudy and thick snow, apart from this small break. This was taken the morning after I got the van stuck in a snowy ditch.

The road in was clear all the way until about 100 yards from the main car park where I was going to stay for the night. After a real struggle getting the van up the slope in to the car park, I went to turn it round and position it and a back wheel slid in to a ditch. I spent more than an hour trying to get it out and eventually succeeded only for the van to slide again and this time both drivers side wheels were deep in the ditch and the van was at a 45 degree angle. There was no chance of getting it out on my own now.

By this point it was dark. I'd missed the sunset, had no phone signal and hadn't seen a single person or car the whole time. I eventually walked further down the glen towards the estate and luckily met some gamekeepers heading home for the night. Long story short, after many tries and a trip to go get a Land Rover with a winch, they eventually got me out and saved my sorry ass. Must send them a present!

For my troubles, the next morning was rubbish weather wise. I didn't get the shot I was hoping for and although the glen was absolutely beautiful in the snow, I didn't feel like sticking around too long. I was worried about getting out. The drive out was nerve wracking. The first section took me about 30 minutes to drive a few hundred yards as I had to keep stopping every few feet as the back of the van slid about.

The rest of the trip wasn't much better weather wise but it will be my last one for a while. In the middle of packing for the house move in just over a week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.