To paraphrase The Beatles ...

Today is the second time I've woken to my birthday in Funchal. I can't tell you how lovely it is after a lifetime of winter birthdays to spend a couple in a warm climate. That said, after over three weeks in Madeira, we're beginning to acclimatise and it did feel quite chilly today, with a strong wind - and mostly cloudy - though the sun eventually broke through. (Heaven help us when we return to Blighty next weekend! Hot water bottles, here we come!)

I notice that my new age is a square number. I never noticed that the first seven times it occurred, and the next time it happens (if I'm still around), I'll probably be too senile to notice. Suffice it to say, I am still needed and I am still feeded ...! In fact, I've been very well fed with a fab lunch at Olives, my favourite Funchal restaurant. It's probably really bad form to photograph one's food - but the sweets are so artistic! (And there was no-one sitting nearby.) Had to include Mr PP's birthday card, bought at the corner shop, and depicting racing guinea pigs. (He knows me so well!) The Portuguese legend roughly translates as "The good news will arrive soon!" And inside it says, "Parabéns!" (Congratulations!)

Thank you for all the lovely comments and scattering of stars for my yesterblip. Much appreciated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.