Flowers for a funeral

In spite of a funeral, it wasn't a sad day. HH wouldn't come, and didn't really know the person, so he stayed home with the computer. I didn't know the gentleman well, but really clicked with him and his wife when we did meet, so wanted to pay my respects to them both. The flowers are for them - a week ago, when I drove along this road, the trees were smothered i flowers and I wished I had time to stop for a photo. Today they were carpeting the ground, nary a one on the trees - rather suitable
I got a lift from friends, and met many more at the crematorium, all with fond memories of a special person. He was 91 years old, suffered from emphysema and had been in hospital for a while, and his widow was thankful that at least he was now resting. Her son and daughter had come from the States, but only for a week, so although she was composed and smiling, the reality will be sinking in and we must ensure she gets plenty of support in the coming months. Such a lovely lady, I feel so sad for her.
After the funeral, I 'm afraid the first priority was to get somewhere cool and have a drink. First back to our friends' house, then out to a restaurant (I checked with HH, but he had already had some lunch).  Back to their house afterwards, lots of relaxed talk, then to my horror, I found it was already 6.30 as I finally headed home. Not good, since a friend was due to come round 'late afternoon'. Oh well, he eventually pitched up at 7.30 and we stayed drinking and eating and talking till well after midnight.


A long day, but a good one

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.