Block

Mr H drove me across to town before a sparrow had even farted in order for A&E to complete their grisly (and probably gristly) task. The doc in charge of manipulation was reassuringly built like a rugby player. I wondered if he would have to put his foot on my chest and pull, but in fact I think he (holding on to the wrist end) braced his foot against that of the anaesthetist (holding on to the torniquet/cuff on my upper arm), for better traction. The local anaesthesia was via a procedure called a Bier’s block, which seemed fairly extreme. It didn’t hurt at all during, just massively before and after.  The before and after x-rays (extra) seem to show that it's all good, but it’s going to take a while.

Thanks for all your good wishes, blippers – my blips are going to be even more boring than usual and I know you will understand that I won’t be commenting on yours much for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.