ABT

By ABT

Train tripping

Well today is my last day in York. I have had such a great time and little did I think I would actually manage to fill my 3 whole days with activities. I've been staying in an old coach-house which has been converted into a 6-room hotel. It's so much more personable than staying with a big faceless hotel group. I must have spent about an hour this morning just passing the time of day with the lovely lady who has been working in the mornings at breakfast. After that I headed out for a walk to the National Railway Museum. I was there for opening time at 10am and had I not had a tour booked at York Brewery at 2pm, I would still be there yet. I love it when you have low expectations (not a train-spotter) and then you are totally proved wrong!! There was so much to see and it was great seeing lots of school groups there too, making history fun. There were trains there that were so old they were falling to pieces and newer ones like Eurostar and Japan's Bullet Train.  The Flying Scotsman was being repaired and the Storage section has literally thousands of artefacts from stations and trains. Moving on, the brewery tour was ok, if a wee bit bare bones. Lovely staff though. It's only a small brewery so it was fine and I was the only person on the tour at that time, apparently they had two large groups booked later in the day. Then I walked along the city walls back to the river Ouze, walked along there a wee bit, then went to see the ruins of St Mary's Abbey (where there were more squirrels than I have ever seen anywhere else..and they are so tame, I thought one was going to jump onto my leg!!) which pretty much took me right back to my hotel. I went back out to catch some more night shots of York Minster and now I'm relaxing in the lovely coffee and cake lounge at the hotel where there is some delicious-looking home-made Guiness cake on offer. Thank-you York, you've been amazing. :o)  See Extras (sorry, again these are from my mobile as I forgot to take my adaptor for my other camera!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.