WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Memorial

My heart sank when I looked at the photos I took today -- they were all terrible! Worse than the equivalent of PaulFS's socks and hankies on Christmas morning. I deleted all of them except this one.

I've driven past this memorial at Lézignan's aerodrome hundreds of times, but today I decided to stop. I'd always assumed it was something to do with Aeropostale, because of Lézignan's association with this pioneering aviation company, employer of Saint-Exupéry among others. But no, it appears to be a memorial to a WWI pilot about whom Google can offer no further information.

The aerodrome is quite large, with a runway that could probably accommodate short-haul commercial jets. But it's just used for pleasure flights and parachute jumping now. Here's a terrified looking parachutist landing there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.