The Wren

By TheWren

Isn't it time for tea?

I gave the dogs a really good long walk this morning and I have rarely seen the woods so busy. There was an orienteering race on and every now and then we came across little orange flags which spooked Cara at first but by the time we were on our way back she was totally un-phased by them.

Once home I decided that I needed some therapeutic, serious gardening to keep me busy. This was easy as three weeks absence from the garden meant that there was plenty of pruning, weeding and general end of season clearing up to be done. As the afternoon progressed one of my compost bins was becoming very full so I needed to completely empty the other before I could go on any further and it was during one of the visits from the compost bin with a full wheelbarrow that I noticed this wee face keeking at me round the corner of the veggie patch. Poor Bruce and Cara - I had become so engrossed that I had forgotten it was their tea time. Here you can see my raised beds with courgettes, leeks, broad beans and runner beans, with companion planting of nasturtiums threading through them all. The buddleia in the background adds a little purple to the palette.

I have to say that I never cease to be thrilled with composting. I know exactly what has been thrown into the bin during the year and to see the wonderful black sweet smelling "soil" at the end of the day is amazing, especially as I know it will enrich my garden and is totally free!

By the way the dogs did get their tea - and I made a cuppa!

I have back blipped a few days today if you are interested.
16th Agapanthus
20th Well Hello
21st Picking blaeberries

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.