Ey up me duck!

Another day with decisions to make about what to do. Janet, who was one of those I was at Birdfair with last weekend, had told me that there was a duck race at Reedham on the river Yare.

So I decided that it might be fun and headed over that way. Believe it or not I used a ferry on the way. It was a blast from the past. We used to go over the Reedham chain ferry sometimes when we visited my maternal grandparents.

The duck race was a quintessentially English affair with the larger, corporate sponsored ducks, heading straight for the reeds at the edge of the river. As you can see, help was at hand but there were casualties!!!

Those of you who have read earlier entries will know that my favourite book is The Wind in the Willows.

Ducks' Ditty

All along the backwater,
Through the rushes tall,
Ducks are a-dabbling,
Up tails all!

Ducks' tails, drakes' tails,
Yellow feet a-quiver,
Yellow bills all out of sight
Busy in the river!

Slushy green undergrowth
Where the roach swim-
Here we keep our larder,
Cool and full and dim.

Everyone for what he likes!
We like to be
Heads down, tails up,
Dabbling free!

High in the blue above
Swifts whirl and call-
We are down a-dabbling
Up tails all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.