Flash Sync

Something of an experiment tonight ... 

I have borrowed a 2nd Canon flash in the past and used it as the master to control my own, which has worked well, but I would quite like to get some more experience with using two flashes and that means having both of them available most of the time.  Sadly,  the Canon 'master' flash is £480+  but the 3rd party Yongnuo version is only £80, so my fun this evening has been to giggle a lot at the translated Yongnuo manual and then find a helpful www site where someone else has sorted out a simple set of instructions for getting the two two work together.  Surprisingly, it didn't take too long so light tent macro & still life should get a lot easier in the future.    

I can't get the sync to work with a radio trigger (would that be a 4th party?) but given that I usually use a sync lead to trigger the master that need not be a problem :-)

Given the similarities I wonder if the expensive Canon and the much cheaper Yongnuo are made in the same factory?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.