Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Greenfinch

It's been a really sunny day for a change :)

After a morning working from home, hubby and I went over the Pickering's Pasture by the river Mersey.
There were lots of birds on the sandbanks as the tide was out - hundreds of gulls, lapwings and a massive flock of dunlin apparently.
At the screen by the ponds, we sat and watched the smaller birds at the feeder and then noticed a wader in the water. It turned out to be a Redshank, another new bird for me. It was just a bit far out for a decent shot.
There were also some noisy long tailed tits on the fat balls, a very tuneful robin and a whole bundle of blue and great tits around the feeder.

As we were about the leave, I noticed a greenfinch on a branch in the sunshine, which I knew was going to be my blip today as I've not seen many greenfinches before.

As the tide rushed in, the flocks of birds took to the sky and we noticed a seal swimming in the river. I managed a couple of shots which didn't turn out too good, but I've included one in the extras just so I don't forget that we actually saw one :)

Looking forward to the weekend, even if my husband is working :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.