Never Tire Of Sunflowers

For FF20 - thought I'd change it up a little from fresh flowers.  We purchased this stained glass piece about 13 years ago on a visit to California.  It was a street art festival in Santa Rosa.  I have loved it for just as long and it has been in my kitchen window most of that 13 years.  The day was just one of those days where everything went well.  We visited my dad's only living brother and his wife.  He had his great grandson living with him who was the same age as Logan at the time (10ish) and the three children had a blast together.  It was a soulful visit with my uncle who was always a bit of an enigma to me having taken such a totally different path than his siblings.  His wife was flowery and artsy and so kind and the art fest was her idea.

Still in disbelief over the inauguration of our 45th president, but alternating between not thinking about it and/or feeling like we will have to approach it with cautious optimism.  Having a hard time with both.  

"When I flung wide the doors 
of a closely guarded life,
kindness and new friendships
rushed in to comfort and divert.
But when the tide is low, 
the surge withdraws,
revealing shards of
broken heart imbedded in the sand,
and in the distance,
the long line of the horizon
where I have found
that peace which passeth understanding."

Where We Walk by Sydney Eddison

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.