I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

We Both Caught One!

Tony texted me to say that Red Rock Canyon had snow and it would be a good Kodak moment. I threw on some clothes and wandered up to the clubhouse to see what I could capture. 

Sure enough the mountains looked beautiful. I guess enduring a day of rain and the continual drip of a leak coming through one of the return vents was well worth it. Blip on the memory card!

I decided to go to the lake to see if anything was going on. Two cormorants were at the edge of the lake and I got some good shots of them flying onto the lake as I approached. 

When I went a bit further, I noticed a couple of duck at the edge of the waterfall that would make a great shot. Whoa! About 20 feet from them was my black-crowned night heron, proudly standing there with the biggest fish in his mouth. (see extra) 

As I tried to get a bit closer, he finally noticed me and flew to a nearby tree. (second extra) He was feeling rather safe, so I was able to get quite close. He finally got fed up with me and flew off, probably to have his breakfast.

I am grateful that Tony motivated me to get out early this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.