Surprise

These hyacinths in a ceramic container were a surprise get-well gift from my lovely work colleagues - they know me well! [Hope they're remembering to water the 'triffid' (a huge weeping fig tree) in the office in my unscheduled absence...]

After a few hours' fitful sleep last night, I took a codeine  tablet, thinking it might help me back to sleep as well as relieving some back pain. So it might, but I suspect that it was also partly responsible for the next 4-hours' worth of wild flashbacks, in full technicolour, complete with sound effects. Car after car - each a different colour - crashing in to me. Aaaargh!

The day could only get better after that, and so it did. A long, hot bath, a visit from a police officer, more day-time TV, a few phone calls and more pampering from MrM. Painkillers at regular intervals are taking the edge off the pain, and the bruising is coming out nicely - rather like my new, theatrical look, now the top half of my nose has turned black! 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.