twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

A mad couple of hours of hoovering and laundry and soup and sandwich making. 

Then to collect her and head off through the misty wonderfulness to Falkirk. At least we couldn't see it.

The John Muir Way part 7; 13 miles from the High station to Croy. Somewhere I'd never been before. And if I didn't have to go back to pick the trail next time out, I'm not sure I'd hurry back. 

Unlike High Bonnybridge. Which fascinated me. All council houses one side of the street, facing footballers wives new build gaudy mansions with electric gates on the other. And a cast that wouldn't look out of place as extras in Twin Peaks. I must go back and explore properly. 

That and Rough Castle - a Roman fort (see photo) on the Antonine Wall. All trenches and pits and earthworks. I loved it. 

So another step closer to Helensburgh. Cold, bleak but fascinating. Herons a plenty, miles of canal lined by bare trees. 

Then a train back to the start pint. The depressing 10 minutes that took us nearly 4 hours to walk... 

Back to mine; pear / rollmop herring / parmesan followed by a Malay duck and mango curry - exquisite.

Eventually she went home to tend her babies and left me to post the photos of the day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.