But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Be Very Afraid.

We woke up to the sun highlighting the greasy smears on the kitchen window where the blue tit has been having a daily, day long fight with himself for the best part of four months.

The drive into Peebles was into some interesting lighting; Mrs TD caught the tail end of it after I’d managed to wriggle my compact out of my pocket.
 
Then we had a quick look around the museum at the Roman exhibition. We arrived several seconds before they closed for the week-end but the curator insisted that Herself try on the foot soldier's armour for me to blip. Her verdict? I was flippin’ heavy.
 
Our normal lunch venue was stowed out so we went to Costa’s for panini and coffees after which Herself went steaming off for some retail therapy leaving me struggling in her wake. I finally lost her when I bumped into bee keeping friends and we chewed the fat for a while over the hot issue of a commercial bee keeper from Perth who has been a naughty boy by illegally import drugs and therefore illegally using them on his bees. Time will tell just how naughty he has been.
 
A few minutes later I bumped into a cycling friend; we try to go out together every four weeks but, last year got off to a bad start with me being a cripple for the first three months, thereafter, we just didn’t get it together. We parted with promises to put matters right.
 
Finally, we stopped on the way home to check on progress of the Mapa Scotland. I was a little disappointed that there is still so much work to do. They had obviously filled the sea with water – but then emptied it again and, although there is no longer any crumbling concrete, there is much to be done to bring the land mass up to scratch. We were too cold and tired to hang about, but I will return in the summer. To some extent, I find it sad to be unable to climb over the structure any longer, but that opportunity was only ever going to be available until the restoration had started. The lads don't have an easy task, the original team used tin cans for foundations which didn't stand up to the rigours of the scottish climate.
 
Have a look at the extras for the kitchen window, the Peebles Road, the west of Scotland view of the map and the view up the Firth of Forth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.