Return to the North

By Viking

Reflections

Birthdays like NY Day are often days for reflection, today was no exception. I choose today to reflect on the positives. I have an amazing family who are all now within 15 minutes drive rather than 11,500 miles away. I have true friends who have supported me in all sorts of ways over the last 18 months  and who continue to support me as I move forward. I have my health and my sanity (both of which I am truly grateful for!) 
Today was also a very quiet day for a birthday. The promised sun did not appear and it made the idea of going for a long walk much less appealing than if it was shining! Sis and i were going to head to Hull to the art exhibition and the slavery museum but decided a saturday was not the best day to go! Then we were going to Old Moor to go for a walk and do a bit of bird spotting but the weather put paid to that idea, so in the weed we went to explore the old Tile Works at Barton. 

Barton upon Humber was once the brick and tile-making capital of Britain, due to the natural clay deposits found in abundance in this part of North Lincolnshire. The industry can be traced back as far as the seventeenth century, when the vernacular of thatch was gradually replaced with tile roofs and brick-built dwellings.
William Blyth was one of the many tile and brick manufacturers found along the Humber’s south bank. When the Brick Tax was abolished in 1850, the tile and brick industry expanded so that by the early 1890s, around 20 such manufacturers operated in the Barton area.
Nowadays it is a cafe and restaurant and coffee shop with some of the units housing artisan crafts etc.
The photo shows it's position in relation to the bridge. have done a fait bit of adjusting in iPhoto. I did capture the smallest bit of break in the cloud when I took the shot but have then saturated the colour to 1) show a blue sky that was soooo not what it looks like and 20 to show the colour of the bricks/tiles that are famous in the area. The original aim of the shot was to capture the reflection and the light on the other side of the bridge!

Tomorrow am having a party :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.