Solidarity

We took part in the Salt Spring Women's March in Solidarity  in Ganges this morning.  A group of women had knitted pussy hats to give away, and I wore mine with pride.  I'm not good at estimating the number of people in a crowd, but G estimated that close to 500 people marched.  We assembled at the library and listened to some speeches, poetry and music, then marched in silence through the streets, peacefully and with very little disruption to traffic.  I've taken part in many protests and this is the first time I've experienced marching in silence.  I found it very emotional and powerful.  The march ended back at the library and we joined in singing John Lennon's Imagine.  I'm always moved by this song, and I wasn't the only one with tears running down my cheeks.  
I'm glad we were among the masses of people around the world who took part in this important day of protest. There's always hope when people pull together in solidarity and demonstrate peacefully for what they believe in.
Extras:  I wasn't really into taking pictures, but I did take some of the crowd and the signs.
I was shocked to read about Canadians denied entry to the US when they told border agents of their plan to attend the march in Washington.  Here's a link to the article about this in The Guardian.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.