General rehearsal

I am in Winschoten (near Groningen), with Close Act,
the street theatre group from Tilburg.
Tonight we play the show Malaya. A big show with stilts,
costumes, schmink, fire, CO2 smoke, music and acrobats hanging
form a crane.
It was quite a challenge to be able to play today, because while they
were packing all the gear back at home, they forgot to put the
electrical cello in the truck... so when I arrived in Winschoten there
was no cello.... whoops!
After a few phonecalls I rushed to Bert Boon (violin maker) in Groningen,
and he just gave me a cello and everything I needed for it!
The show, and I, was saved!

I took this photo during the general rehearsal on the marketplace
of the town. You see a few stilt players and a lot of flags. They were
rehearsing the part just before the grand finale. And I am sitting on
my 4 meter high wobbly tower with just enough place for me and
my cello.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.