Border Control

The River Wharfe acts as a natural border that separates the North and West areas of the County of Yorkshire in these parts.
Here the stepping stones are the only means of crossing the river in my village if you want to go to Asquith on the opposite side.
Bridges to walk and drive over are more than three miles away in each direction.
There is a campaign by some in my village to have a bridge built a few metres away to allow walkers to cross.
Opinion is divided in the village as to whether it would be a good thing or not.
I'm in the not camp, the bridge would cost a couple of hundred thousand pounds and l feel it would spoil the natural beauty of the area.
I think the ramblers association is in favour of it but l think they could just ramble a few miles extra to the crossings at Otley or BenRhydding.
I'm a walker myself and already do exactly that.
The stepping stones are often under water in winter and should be avoided but in summer this is a popular crossing.
While on our walk today there were a few folk crossing, ignoring the advice that this is one of the fastest rising rivers in the country.
I hasten to add the child seen here had nothing to do with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.