Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Memories and an inspiring story from the USA

The recent protests about Ronald Trump's alleged disparagement of people with a disability got me thinking about the most delightful class I taught in Romania, for just one year, a small special needs class in Romania's largest school.

When I first approached the school the Director (headteacher) was reluctant to let me work with them, saying it was a waste of time as they could achieve nothing. Finally he agreed and I did a project with them, 'Our towns', with a special needs class in Pensicola, USA, via very primitive internet (eg, no Windows; on one obsolete laptop using MSDos).

When the children mounted a magnificent exhibition about their project at the end of the year the Director did have the grace to come to present prizes and apologise.

I couldn't find a photographic print of the class (no digital camera then) but I did have a scan on my external drive so took a shot of the Mac screen for this blip.

Another prompt was a wonderful story about a teacher in the USA who involved the whole of her SEN class in her wedding.
I would have blipped her great picture but mindful of recent blipfoto warnings about copyright I'm just putting a link to the story below, which I hope works as it's very inspiring.

The original photo of 'The bunnies', as I called them, would have been taken on my Olympus OM1 with 50mm f/1.8 lens.

http://www.scarymommy.com/special-ed-teachers-invites-entire-class-wedding/?utm_source=GLPSOURCE1220&utm_campaign=GLP&utm_medium=partner

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.