Cailleach

By Cailleach

Weight for it....

Recently, a friend asked me why I so often write about being a chubster.

Mostly, I do it because it amuses me to poke fun at myself, and in truth, I have put on a couple of pounds since the summer. But it made me wonder...and I undertook a little experiment.

So in the interests of science (being almost a doctor, an' all), I texted ten friends (5 male, 5 female) of all shapes and sizes, with this question; 'Do you think you're overweight?' (I didn't just launch into it, you understand; I did the 'hello, how are you' bit first!)

Anyway, the females all said more or less the same thing:

M (who is a size 6) thinks her thighs are too fat.
J (about a size 12) claims her arms are chubby.
H (maybe a 16) 'hates' her size.
L (another 12) sent me a series of 'sad' emojis.
And R (an 18) told me to ask something sensible.

The boys, on the other hand, had very different responses:

D (a cuddly bear of a chap) told me he's 'at his peak'.
J said he's been the same weight for 30 years, and what was I on about?
R said he was a veritable love God, and do I fancy a pub quiz next week.
T said he has a beer belly but his wife loves it.
And G completely ignored the question, but asked if he could borrow my stepladders.

I'm not entirely sure that my research will get me a Nobel Prize, but I do find it very interesting that women are incredibly critical of themselves, whereas men seem to be more comfortable in their skins.

Perhaps it's time that we women started being a bit kinder to, and about, ourselves. So I'm starting my own personal journey with this statement:

I might have an arse like a semi-deflated football, but my legs are fabulous!!!!!!

(Go on....give it a try!) ☺

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.