pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

GODWITS

A wee story to tell about my GODWIT quest for today.  I snuck out to one of the Islands in the middle of the Charlesworth reserve tidal area and snuggled in pretty well unnoticed by man or bird - perching behind a used Black backed Gull nest( I never used such a hide as this before ) it was a bit smelly, but the things one does for a good Godwit shot - I was there a half hour or so observing a flock of about 3,000 roosting Godwits ( young and old) when from the corner of my eye I saw a man and a youngster launching their small dinghy into the reserves waterways. Hmm. thought I this will be interesting and sure enough - unknowingly the youngster frightened the whole flock who took off right in front of me hiding behind the foliage and the BB Gull nest. It was a nice occasion really the youngster got such a fright as she hadnt even seen the roosting birds. the birds did a lap and settled on an island further away.
Nice one - see extra.

rgds poo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.