Christopher Columbus

Both Zarco and Columbus were influential early explorers of Madeira, and there are statues to both maritime heroes around the island. After all our visits there, I felt sure I must have blipped them before, but apparently not. So here's Christopher in the Santa Catarina Park. I can never pass this statue without Guy Mitchell's voice ringing in my ears with lyricist Terry Gilkyson's words "Let me fly fly fly stormy waters" - a hit from 1950 (before my time!), but that I heard a lot in my childhood as it was one of my parents' modest collection of 78rmp records that we used to play frequently.

This is a back-blip as I catch up after my tummy-upset (now better, thank you for your kind wishes), and journey home (happily uneventful, ditto).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.