Mono Monday: Minimalist

STILL cloudy, foggy in spots, and overcast--I wish this weather system would find a new home, as all you see is gray! I think the weather is starting to  affect Tom, who is normally very even tempered. He needs to get a passport, so last week I got all the paperwork for him & took him to get his picture taken, but when we got to the Post Office they wouldn't accept his birth certificate, as it now has to have the state seal on it, & his was an older copy which didn't have the seal. I looked up where to go to get a new one, & early this morning we went downtown to the register of deeds. Well, you'd have thought he was going to the dentist! He started complaining about having to go "all the way downtown" (it takes us about 7 minutes), then complained about the parking (even though we found a spot right outside the main door), complained all the way to the Vital Statistics office because he just knew we'd have to stand in line for hours (we were the only ones there & were in and out in about 10 minutes). Next he started to complain because we'd have to take the paperwork "all the way" to the Courthouse (it was 3 blocks away), he didn't want to pay to park in their parking garage (so we walked there), had a fit because we had to stand in a line of about 10 people to go through security at the Courthouse (took less than 5 minutes), complained because he didn't know where the County Clerks' office was (I already had the office number) then complained all the way down the hall about how he just KNEW we'd be standing in line forever in THIS office (again, we were the only people there, & were out in under 20 minutes with everything done). On the way back to the car he complained because I didn't put enough money in the meter (I had). I finally stopped on the street and told him he'd given me a massive headache and if he didn't stop his complaining I was going to give HIM a headache.....he looked at me and said (and I quote) "I haven't been complaining!"  Wow!  He did stop, though, and we went down to the Lakefront to look for something "minimalist".
I really dithered between two different pictures for monomonday, but went with the Breakwater Lighthouse, which sits at the entrance to the harbor. A big thanks to Marlieske for hosting! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.