The Wren

By TheWren

Monkeys at the Zoo

Well, what a fabulous day. I gave the dogs a really good walk while my daughter prepared a picnic and then we left for a day at the Zoo. My friend was going to let the dogs out during the day - in case any of you were worried!

I don't think I have been to the Zoo since my children were quite young so I was as excited as the boys, especially as Edinburgh Zoo now looks after two Giant Pandas, courtesy of China. We saw so much and had many a laugh at the antics of some, especially the penguins and the monkeys but my favourites were the big cats, particularly the tiger and the jet black jaguar, and the pandas. Some photos I took are really quite good but this one of the boys in front of the monkey poster took the prize for me so I hope you like it and can see the fun they were having. Viewed large you can see their expressions even better.

We were there until the very last minute and even watched while the keepers were putting animals into their sleeping quarters, like the mama, papa and baby hippo. The huge sea lion was our last venue and he was priceless as he obviously thought we had come to bring him food and was swimming round and then rearing right up out of the water and eye balling us as he did so, much to our hilarity.

We ended the day in an Italian restaurant after which we changed the boys into their pj's, tucked them into their car seats and headed home where we transferred the sleeping trio into their beds with no bother at all! Cara and Bruce were fine but thrilled to see us back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.