heartstART

By heartstART

Come rain or shine

I left drought stricken Canberra located inland for Sydney on the coast today and travelled up by coach. I arrived into the city during peak hour. It was pouring down rain and windy. Got soaked and actually felt cold as I walked with my bags against the tide of the huge office crowds at Central Station like a salmon swimming upstream. Hard to believe how only an hour prior it was searing hot.

The difference between the two cities is immense. Sydney is sub-tropical, has nearly 5 million people of all cultural varieties and was heaving with humanity at rush hour. It is one of the world's 10 most liveable cities. It's also one of the most expensive. The coastline, beaches and parks are spectacularly beautiful.

It was my home for 20 years until recently. I feel like a visitor now. I thought I'd feel nostalgic. I don't. Not for the place. I have great memories of living here, but my time in Sydney is history.

What I love is seeing my people; friends and familiar sights. Staying at Stuart's tonight. It always feels comforting to have a stop at his place. We had a BBQ, watched a bad movie, ate ice cream just as if I was still living 2 streets up. Except instead of going back to Bourke Street, I'm on the cosy air mattress bed In the lounge room that he's prepared.

It's been a year since we last saw each other. I knew it would feel like it was only the other day. Some things you can count on.
Come rain or shine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.