If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Great Mell Fell from Eycott Hill.

Having  had a very enjoyable guided walk round the Cumbria Wildlife Trust's Eycott Hill reserve on Saturday I wanted to refresh my memory about what was said.  Walking the reserve again seemed a good way to do this.

Clickychick was busy with a client so my brother I and  went up there for a wander.  As you can see it wasn't the best of days but very enjoyable nevertheless. I first heard of Eycott Hill 50+ years ago in the geology club at school.  Famous for its very unusual (unique?) lava flows.  The lava is Silurian (443 -416 million years old) and occurs as 20 or so flows running across the reserve.

The ridge to the left of the picture is one of these flows and beyond in the mist is Great Mell Fell which I must have blipped from many angles before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.