Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Dog Dreams #2

Aristóteles is very electric, and so are his dreams. They are so highly charged that they send little sparks through his fur. Obviously, he was dreaming about some very aromatic food when I photographed him, while his superego (the training his Mr is trying to give him) told him to stay put. What surprised me was that colorful cloud around his head. It looks a bit like a aurora borealis. Very probably, it is produced by the interference between his dreamy sparks and his strong magnetic field. It is not visible to the naked eye and doesn't appear on the photographs I take when he is awake. 

The background story to this series: A while ago I read an article on BBC about a Frenchman, Commandant Louis Darget, who tried to photograph the thoughts and dreams of his wife, Madame Darget at the turn of the 20th century. 
"Humbug", I thought (and the article confirmed it). 
But I was intrigued and decided to give it a try. Since my wife and daughter are still enjoying themselves in Rio and São Paulo, I had to content myself with my dogs (I suspect my wife wouldn't have agreed to have her dreams photographed as she is a bit supersticious). 
This series proves that Commandant Darget wasn't completely wrong after all. All he lacked was the proper equipment, i.e., a Nikon D3300.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.