Burns Day Today

And I am looking forward to my traditional dinner this evening. I've had to change my interpretation of his  'Address to the Haggis'  - 

Original Version:

Fair fa' your honest, sonsie face,
Great chieftain o the puddin'-race!
Aboon them a' ye tak your place,
Painch, tripe, or thairm:
Weel are ye worthy o' a grace
As lang's my arm.



Translation:


Fair and full is your honest, jolly face,
Great chieftain of the sausage race!
Above them all you take your place,
Stomach, tripe, or intestines:
Well are you worthy of a grace
As long as my arm.


My translation:

Fair and full is your honest, jolly face,
Great chieftain of the vegetarian sausage race!
Above them all you take your place,
vegetables, pulses, oatmeal, seeds and spices

(covered in whisky, cream, and mustard sauce)

Well are you worthy of a grace
As long as my arm.



It doesn't work quite as well as the original but it sure tastes good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.