Elm Tree, Arms Stretched Wide in the Snow

"The trees were gazing up into the sky, their bare arms stretched in prayer for the snows." - Alexander Smith

We had rain on Monday that turned into a heavy, wet snow late in the day and into the overnight. It didn't accumulate much, and the snow was the kind that clung to every branch on every tree.

I love a good snowstorm, and I was fortunate to have the opportunity to walk around campus Tuesday morning so I might enjoy the fresh coat of white. We have so many beautiful trees on campus, and each one was a work of art.

This is one of my favorite trees - no, perhaps my very FAVORITE tree - on the main part of campus. It is the remaining elm that stands beside Old Main. On this morning, it stretched its arms wide to the listening sky, wearing its winter coat of snow.

The song: Tori Amos, Winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.