Lorna's Little Life

By lornabowry

#100happydays = complete

"Edina! Scotia's darling seat!" begins the Robert Burns poem, 'Address To Edinburgh'. And so, on this Burns Night, it seems fitting to end my #100happydays with my newest edition to life -- my Edina tattoo. 

The song 'Edina' by Blue Rose Code has become one of my favourite these past months, and I often find myself singing it subconsciously: "I often think about the nights, The times before I learnt that all my days have got a number...Would you forgive me, what do you say, Edina?". 

These two lyrical, linguistic pieces of genius, and spurred on of course with my love of Edinburgh, made this seem like a fitting way to thank this place for all it has given, does give and will give to me. 

Not only is it a mark of my love of Scotland, and Edinburgh in particular, and a thank you to all that it is, but a mark of the fact music keeps my world turning day by day. As I have tagged many times in these 100 days, #musicisgoodforthesoul. My life wouldn't be the same without music; my memories, my friendships, my understanding of life. My life would look so very different if it wasn't for music carrying me through the ups and downs. 

And to wrap it all up, this is my mums handwriting. Her handwriting was so distinctive and it feels like a huge comfort in life to have that with me every day now, in person, not just in memory or when I want to rummage through a box of things.

Of course, there in the background is my other new item in life -- my visa to the USA. Six weeks today I will make the move to America and get the visa stamped on entry to the next stage of life's journey. It has been a long time coming and it is good to be here at last.

I can't believe how quickly these 100 days have passed. I began the #100happydays hoping I would have my visa by the end of it as at the time it was proving a challenge, but I was never really convinced it would really happen. I was wrong, and now here we are!

This marking of Edinburgh, of music, of home, of love, of adventure, of journeying, of comforts, of unknowns, of life, feels like the right way to complete these 100 days.

Thank you, all of you, for journeying alongside. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.