Piping hot

Fish and Chip night down at the 'Dog and Duck' - another excuse for a birthday celebration (it's a record year) and a lovely chance to see some folk I don't see so often anymore.

And who should be there on Burns Night but friend, fellow Jazz player  & honoured-in-the-New-Year-with-a-CBE Stephen, playing the pipes!

Martin and I met Stephen around 15 years ago on fundraising Burns Night for the school.   Both identified as Scotsmen, so Martin was toasting the haggis and Stephen was piping it in....

We stayed up into the small hours drinking whisky (I think), and Stephen told me about Linton Jazz and opened the door to a possibility of a couple of hours a week respite from baby stuff.  I jumped at the opportunity then, and I'm still getting a tremendous amount out of playing with the band.

Bravo Stephen - it's not just your 'Services to Health protection' for which you are appreciated.  It's also for just being your own generous, thoughtful, musical self. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.