lie-in

This is where I slept last night. Possibly D is regretting buying me "The Book of the Bivvy" by local author Ronald Turnbull, for Christmas...having read it, I decided that as a challenge to myself for 2017, I would bivvy out once a month in a different place.

As the nights are long just now, I'm not venturing too far from home. I chose a wood about half a mile from our house and set off there at about 11pm last night. The skies were clear, and although there was no moon, I could see without a torch after about 20 minutes.

I put down my bag on a knoll - the ground was soft with layers of oak leaves. I woke up once in the night and tried to take photos of the stars, but without a tripod it wasn't very successful (see extra).

I expected to be woken by the snuffling of badgers but all I heard was the burn and  tawny owls calling above me. I didn't wake up again until it was light and the badgers were all back warm and cosy in their sett. The divvy bag was covered by a thin rime of frost. I packed up quickly and set off back over the fields to home and a nice warm cup of coffee :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.