I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Kitty Feeder

This is the first year I have fed the birds during the winter. I have enjoyed watching their antics at the kitchen window and getting some fun photographs. There are a few interlopers that I am trying to discourage, the tricolored black birds and starlings, but for the most part, the finches, sparrows and mourning doves have been getting along quite nicely.

Yesterday, we heard a loud thump on the window. That meant a dove had hit it, but didn't think more about it until I was going out to attempt some shots of the frost. (100mm lens and extension tube on the camera.) 

When I got to the back slider, I was surprised to see a hawk sitting on the back of one of the patio chairs. I tried to get the tube off as quick as possible, but no luck, the hawk was gone. I think he was quite pleased that he found a new source for his meals.

This morning as I was watching the birds, this kitty was doing the same! I have seen it in the yard previously, but I imagine it's thoughts are along the line of the hawk. New hunting grounds found. It has been keeping the bigger birds away from the feeder, so I guess that is a good thing.

I am grateful to watch how nature interacts, just outside my windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.