Abstract Thursday : : The Group of Seven...

...was a collective of Canadian landscape artists I have always admired. They were influenced by the European impressionists and held their first exhibition at the Art Gallery of Toronto in 1920.

My picture is neither a painting nor a Canadian landscape. I took it at Spring Lake this morning and, since I have taken many pictures in the exact same spot, I decided to see what I could do to make it look different. The result of fiddling with an appealed Mobile Monet reminded me a lot of the Group of Seven paintings of locations in the Rockies. You can check out the link if you like.

The rest of the day was spent dragging coaxing the loathed vacuum cleaner around in a semi-successful effort to knock down an accumulation of dog hair and spider webs. The fact that Korey was here installing some shelves in the coat closet by the front door, and some extra pegs on the coat rack by the garage door did not make the job any easier, but we managed to work around each other.

The idea is that dress coats, scarves and purses will go by the front door and parkas, sweatshirts, hats and gloves will go by the garage door. I suspect that four years has been long enough for us to become completely set in our ways so we will continue to drop most of our junk on the kitchen counter. 

I hope not, since it turned out to be a rather expensive experiment, and won't be that much of an improvement on the kitchen counter if we don't also remember to close the door to the coat closet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.