A surprise....

What I call the "remorseless variety" of an MSPs life was in evidence today.

I had constituency advice surgeries in Dunoon and Strachur and there were lots of people who wanted to talk.

I started the day with a conversation about the lack of accountability of our local health and social care partnership, which is determined to make life hard for itself by refusing to consult properly and listen to those who use its services.  Jargon and bureaucracy rules, alas.

I then had a variety of  issues to to consider with those affected including agricultural support, planning, council services and the inevitable failures by BT - the most complained about organisation in my entire area, even considering the poor performance of the current Argyll & Bute Council administration.

Then this afternoon it was on to housing  , social care and finally plans for a fish farm in what is increasingly clear is an inappropriate location.

But in that last meeting there was an unexpected pleasure as someone had brought along the largest mermaid's purse I had ever seen, to illustrate the richness of the proposed location which is  an area which is already designated for the protection of Skate, from which species this egg case had come.   

I expressed my pleasure at seeing and handling something so naturally beautiful .  To my surprise when the meeting ended I was then given it.   So it is now sitting on my desk and is being blipped .  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.