Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

My grandmother asked me to tell you she's sorry

I love it. Only a few more pages to go. I made good headway in the cabin last weekend and some more while waiting in the hospital last Wednesday.

The beginning was great, I laughed out loud from time to time. After a while it became wearisome, I glanced at and leafed through some pages, but I got back into it after granny died and the actual story began. The first chapters were necessary as a background for the rest of the story. The author has done an incredible job. To make a 7 year old believe in all the tales her granny told her, to experience the world in that way, while we as readers slowly see the deeper meaning behind the stories. The author really managed to tie a lot of strings together. I'm hoping for a well thought of and happy end, but I'm not there yet. And I won't tell you about it, don't want to be a spoil sport.

If you're a reader and happen to be on Goodreads I'd love to connect there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.