Brambling

I saw two birds today that I'd never seen before, I'm told they were a brambling (in the picture) and a water rail. G and I went for a course on winter photography at Sculthorpe Moor Community Nature Reserve. I can't say I learnt much on the course, but it was my first visit to Sculthorpe Moor and I loved it and hope to return with my longer lens.

It was also extremely useful to be shown around and have the areas pointed out where we might see water voles, badgers, kingfishers, birds of prey and owls. The 45 acre reserve was created in 2001 and is run by the Hawk and Owl Trust (or the Orc and Howl Trust as someone recently told me! :))))). In particular, the Trust wants to protect the fen habitat which is so important to the marsh harrier in particular. 

So enjoying the Australian Open - what fabulous performances by the Williams sisters and by Federer and Nadal. How great that three of them have come back to top form following injury / illness. And wonderful to see the variety of shot making this year. Fingers crossed for Federer tomorrow - I'll catch up with commenting whilst watching the final.

PS Don't forget to do the RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch if you can - it's on for three days this year, so you can do it until Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.